Student Organization

The West Virginia University Student Organization of APBP has been essential to the growth of the nonprofit. In addition to the primary work of sending books to imprisoned people, students assist with volunteer training, fundraising, educational events, and service-learning activities. In fall 2018, the student group launched the first annual Walk for Justice, a highly successful two-mile walk that raised money and generated awareness about the need for educational opportunities inside prison. Students also created APBP’s first t-shirts!

The 2017-2018 officers are Rayna Momen (President), Vivian Culpepper (Vice-President), Laura Curry (Treasurer) and Kristin DeVault (Secretary). Three work-study students are vital to the student organization: Ashley Derr, Kim Gray, and Kristin DeVault. We are also fortunate this year to have a Newman Civic Fellow dedicating her time and skills to the group, Emma Harrison. The Faculty Advisor is Katy Ryan, Professor of English.

Check out this video made by the student organization.